Drunken Stork
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Go down
Admin
Admin
https://drunkenstork.forumotion.com

jibengong practice and observations  Empty jibengong practice and observations

Thu Dec 21, 2017 10:58 pm
I don't keep much track of time, but ive been working at the loosening exercises for about two months now, on a relatively daily basis. Ive skipped a day here and there from either laziness or soreness, or some combination of the two.

I want to make some observations about the training so far, in no particular order...

as a broad stroke, i am usually always a little sore in the pelvic area, especially the sacrum, as i do LOTS of spinal twist. my spine has never felt better...if it has, i dont remember when.

using the exercises to mechanically encourage relaxation and stretching in the core, in concert with feeling-awareness images (PEARLS, MARSHMALLOW FEET, etc.) has most certainly helped me to relax and re-align my posture. this has led to an increase in my ability to 'sink', and 'ground'....samesame imo. the more aligned to gravity you are, the less contraction you need to stay upright. this, in turn, lets you get a greater sense of your balance(alignment), and lets you access a whole new level, or round of relaxation. and so it goes.

i find there to be lots of muscle memory that produces areas of tension, even when you think your relaxed. relax your shoulders, and then check again, and see how seamlessly they slip back into their historical position/tonus. and likely you wont even notice. the lower torso is also a place where you can find some subtle tension of rather large areas of muscle.

once you start to line up and relax, then your muscles will be given the opportunity to change their tonus, as they are no longer under the same demand. you have to give them the space to relax, literally.